Pushing Forward With New Places

Here’s the latest on In A Place.

I’ve been hunting near and far for a photo lab who can offer great quality digital prints while complimenting the In A Place project’s budget. And, I’m excited to say that I think I’ve found a great lab to help produce the limited 8 x 10 first series prints. Bay Photo Lab in Santa Cruz California is a name that has popped up from several different sources, and I’ve ordered an evaluation print to see how my images fare with their services. If the test print meets the quality I’m looking for, expect to see the first 24 prints available around mid January. My plan is to only produce a small run on the prints though, 15 copies of each image, numbered and signed.

Sheila Menzies, one of the outstanding supporters of my In A Place Kickstarter campaign, has been incredibly helpful in finding an alternative solution for self publishing my book. One of the leads she sent my way may turn out to be an excellent solution! ArtBookbindery.com has put together an appealing quote in producing an exclusive 50 book run of In A Place at a great price. There will have to be some minor format adjustments, but all of the content will remain intact. Once Calista and I iron out the budget details, I’ll post an update on the book’s availability. I would love for the book to go on sale at the same time the prints do, but we’ll have to wait see. At this time, there are no plans to run another Kickstarter campaign for the book.

Yes, it’s true. I now have a brand new camera! I’ve been pouring over the owner’s manual and testing out the different lenses. Over the next four weeks, I’ll be taking the camera and the family of miniature tables out to hunt for some new images. Some of these images may even make it into the book! I expect that some will certainly be added to the print series.

But wait, there’s more! I’ve decided to produce four acrylic paintings based on In A Place scenes, taking me back to how the whole project was first conceived. I’ve already pulled the four images that I think will be satisfying to render with paint on canvas, and will post images as soon as the paint dries.

Now, if I can just remember where I stored my painter’s cap…

Leave a Reply

